Favorite Books of 2016

9361589

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

         I LOVED THIS BOOK. The most perfect and innocent romance I have ever read. And they don’t even know who each other are for most of the book!

Summary: A circus that magically appears one day and only at night. No one knows when or where it appears and disappears. It features so many wonderful tents of tremendous performances and experiences. But the circus really isn’t just a special night circus, it is the stage for a magic battle between two magicians that can only end in death.

9969571

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

       WOAH. Just WOAH. This book totally blew my mind. It had me on the edge of my seat the whole time!

Summary: In the future (2044 to be exact), everyone will be absorbed in a virtual reality game called the Oasis. People can go to school, go to work, and visit different created planets all from the comfort of their own home. When the creator of The Oasis died, he left a huge Easter egg in his game. Whoever finds the egg inherits all of the creator’s wealth. Wade has dedicated his life to finding the Egg and studying the 80’s pop culture that the creator was obsessed with. When he stumbles upon the first key to the first of 3 gates, the whole world begins searching anew. The only way for Wade to protect the Oasis is to team up with friends to find the Egg and keep it from people who want to destroy the Oasis everyone has come to love.

18584855

Heartless by Marissa Meyer

       My. Heart. I am such an Alice in Wonderland fan. I love the colorful world, how unique Alice is, and the overall madness of it all.

Summary: Before Alice. . . the Red Queen was not always so terrible. Heartless is her story. The story of Catherine, who wants to be the most famous baker in all of Hearts but forced by her parents to attempt to be the next Queen of Hearts. When Cath meets Jest, the strange and mysterious court jester, everything changes.

29044

The Secret History by Donna Tartt

     Last year I read The Goldfinch and it was very, very long. I got stuck on page 525 for months. But 3 pages later, the story picked up again and I really enjoyed it. While I was searching for a job, I decided to give another one of her books a try, and I was hooked. The beginning was a bit slow, but the whole story was just nail biting.

Summary: Someone dies, you know that from the beginning. But the events that led up to the act are bizarre. Richard arrives at college in New England without a major. One group of students really catches his attention and it leads him to take on Classics as a major. The class is very unconventional, one professor, tea time, and lounging around. (I would love to have a major like that!) Richard’s classmates are very wealthy and they are very close. But when a death appears in the paper on the night of some suspicious activities, one of the group’s member’s panics and life is not the same after that.

68378

Dragons of Spring Dawning by Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman

      The third book of the Dragonlance core novels. I laughed, I cried, and I was definitely not the same afterwards. I literally could not mentally function for a while.

Summary: Our favorite characters are on a mission to defeat the Queen of Darkness. Pasts are revealed, friendships are challenged, and new characters are introduced. The dragon lances have been forged and the dragons have arrived. Elves and humans must band together to fight back the dark that threatens to change their world.

Let me know what some of your favorite books this year are! Leave a comment below if you have enjoyed any of these titles above.

3 thoughts on “Favorite Books of 2016

Add yours

    1. I agree! I got page 550 and just stopped for a while, the story slowed down. When I picked it back up again, the story started up again and I plowed through til the end. The Goldfinch was my first Tartt book. The Secret History is currently my favorite.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑